GTBR Recognizes Area Contractors for Outstanding Safety Performance



BEAUMONT, TX, August 15, 2017 – The Golden Triangle Business Roundtable (GTBR) held its 26th annual Contractor Safety Awards Luncheon on Aug. 15 to recognize and honor this year’s contractor safety award nominees, finalists and award recipients. This annual event honors Golden Triangle contractors for exemplary safety performance in the workplace. GTBR members nominate contractors for these awards and the GTBR Safety Committee evaluates the nominations, conducts on-site visits and interviews with contractors and contractor employees before selecting the recipients that will be recognized during this banquet. This year was marked by an all-time high number of 55 nominations from 14 different facilities. Sean Ryan, president of Golden Pass LNG was this year’s guest speaker and special guests included Congressman Randy Weber and Jefferson County Judge Jeff Branick.

“When these awards were created in 1991, the primary goal was to improve the safety and welfare of contractor employees working within our facilities,” said Darren Goerz, chairperson of the GTBR and mechanical division manager at ExxonMobil’s Beaumont refinery. “GTBR members have continued to see a decline in the number of injuries over the last 26 years, which demonstrates continued success.”

GTBR Contractor Safety Award Recipients:

Burrow Global – Engineering
Corrpro – Meritorious
DME Industrial – Small Construction
Echo Construction – Large Construction
Johnson Controls – Small Specialty
Newtron Beaumont – Large Specialty
Ohmstede – Small Maintenance
Remedial Construction Services – Medium Specialty
Triple “S” Ind. Corp. – Large Maintenance
Triple “S” Ind. Corp. – Medium Construction
Zachry Industrial – Medium Maintenance

Remedial Construction Services – Donald T. Boumans Award 


From the Event